Select Business Databases A-Z


ABI/INFORM Complete
business news, scholarly and industry / trade publication articles.
Ad$pender
advertising spend by market and media type. Library use only.
Analy$ource
DMD America’s Analy$ource® allows users to track and analyze pharmaceutical pricing and deal information. Individual accounts are available for Fuqua faculty, and Fuqua students currently taking classes that may require this data for coursework. Other Duke users may request custom data retrieval via an online request form.
Avention
Avention, Inc., formerly OneSource, provides worldwide company and industry profiles, financials and analysts reports, as well as business related articles, executive profiles, links to company home pages, and trade press articles. Through four key capabilities: Conceptual Search, Business Signals, Ideal Profiles and Smart Lists, users find leads, market segments, and business insights.
BCC Market Researchtutorial available
BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Duke's subscribed report categories are: Biotechnology, Energy & Resources, Fuel Cell & Battery Technologies, Healthcare, and Pharmaceuticals. Click the "My Categories" link after connecting to browse reports.
Bizminer
Provides industry financial analysis benchmarks and industry market trends. Industry Financial Reports analyze 5,500 lines of business and up to a dozen sales classes at US, state and metro levels. Industry market reports cover 9,000 business segments in market areas as small as a single zip code or as large as the US.
Bloomberg Professional
Comprehensive financial and news information system. Available only to Duke users in the Ford Library Data Resources Room & other locations at Fuqua.
Business Monitor Online
international research report archive of BMI research on 175 countries expanding at over 7,600 economic/political country reports and 2,120 industry sector reports each year.
Business Source Complete
full text access to articles on management, finance, economics, industry, accounting, and international business from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications.
Capital IQ
comprehensive fundamental and quantitative company research and analysis. Personal accounts are available to Fuqua students only; bowever Duke users may access Capital IQ by requesting a walk-in password with a valid student ID at the Circulation Desk.
Compustat (North America) via WRDS
provides the annual and quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on most publicly held North American companies.
Compustat Global via WRDS
provides financial data covering publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries, representing over 90% of the world's market capitalization.
Conference Board, The (Business & Economics Portfolio)
full text source of management and economic research. Contains reports and data related to business, economics and markets.
CRSP Mutual Funds via WRDS
provides historical and current mutual fund NAVs, profiles, monthly asset data, and data on "dead" funds.
CRSP + Compustat Merged File via WRDS
time series data for security prices, returns, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq. The Merged file includes detailed income statement and balance sheet data from Compustat.
DataStream Advancetutorial available
Time series data covering equity prices, bonds, market indices, futures and options, and interest and exchange rate data.
DealScan (WRDS-Reuters DealScan)
Provides users with access to Thomson Reuters LPC’s database of detailed terms and conditions on over 240,000 loan transactions. These transactions finance M&A activity, working capital needs and other general corporate purposes for loan participants world-wide. Dealscan sources include regulatory filings, bank submissions and journalist contributions. After connecting to WRDS, select Thomson-Reuters from the Subscribed Datasets dropdown to access DealScan.
EconLit with Full Text
an index to articles in economics, including economic history, economic theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, finance, production, and more.
EconoMagic
Economic time series data with a focus on historical data & economic forecasting. Provides Excel files for all series, with GIF and PDF options also available for some.
The Economist.com
Full text and image access to the Economist Magazine via the Economist.com web site.
eMarketer Total Access
eMarketer Total Access aggregates and analyzes e-business and high tech market research from over 1600 sources worldwide. Includes charts, tables, statistics & articles for download in PDF, PPT, and Excel format.
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System)user guide available
formerly known as ISI EMerging Markets, EMIS provides company directory information, financial data, and news from the world's emerging markets. After connecting, click the orange Access Now button to view Duke's subscribed coverage areas.
ESG Manager on Campus - Corporate Social Responsibility
provides PDF reports on the environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance of corporations, and industries.
Experian-Simmons Data via SimplyMap
SimplyMap is a web-based data mapping and data retrieval application that lets users create thematic maps and data reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Experian-Simmons market research data is available from 2008-2012/13 for America’s 210 media markets on a local level with 60,000+ data variables, including over 450 categories and 8,000 specific brands. Select SimmonsLOCAL from the variable categories after logging into the site. (Variable List)
Factiva.comtutorial available
provides full text access to Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires, The Wall Street Journal, Barron's, other Dow Jones publications, and extensive newspaper & journal coverage.
Forrester Research
Contains market research reports and data for the online economy with a focus on the impact of IT developments on businesses and consumers.
Foundation Directory Online
The directory contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. This edition includes full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.
Frost & Sullivan
provides market research reports and data on a wide variety of industries and technologies. It has an especially strong focus on the health care, pharmaceutical, and medical device markets.
Gartner Intraweb
Full text analysis of issues focused on business, technology, industry, and markets. Duke subscribed material is located in the "research" tab in the top menu bar.
(IHS) Global Insight
presents market and finance data arranged by country. includes a country's financial profile, current political, economic, legal, operations, tax, and security risks news, & long term (5 year) financial projections.
Global New Issues (SDC)
Available only via SDC Platinum software in Ford Library. Covers new security issues worldwide. word doc iconRead Before Using Global New Issues - the Global New issues module requires each user to make a small change in SDC Platinum's settings in order to successfully conduct a search.
GoingGlobal
A resource for information on international job searches, life and study abroad, international internships, and much more. Licensed for current Fuqua students only.
Guidestar - Nonprofit Financial Data
covers 1.8 million IRS-recognized U.S. nonprofit organizations. Enables users to find a charity, benchmark a nonprofit's performance, research a particular nonprofit sector, and more. Login and registration on the Guidestar site is not required for Duke user access.
Health Source Consumer
Includes searchable full text for over 150 consumer health journals, abstracts and indexing for nearly 175 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications, and more.
I/B/E/S via WRDS
The Institutional Brokers Estimates System provides consensus and detail forecasts from security analysts, including earnings per share, revenue, cash flow, long-term growth projections and stock recommendations.
IBISWorld
Provides an extensive collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings on U.S. industries. Reports focus on industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Duke's subscribed content includes: Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, iExpert Summary Reports, and US Specialized Super Niche Industry Reports (Current & Future).
IHS Connect (formerly IHS Global Insight)
presents market and finance data arranged by country. includes a country's financial profile, current political, economic, legal, operations, tax, and security risks news, & long term (5 year) financial projections.
IMF e-Library
contains IMF Statistical Databases with International Financial Statistics (IFS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments (BOPS), and Direction of Trade (DOTS)
ImportGenius.com
Note: Duke users must create a personal account on the importgenius.com site using their "@duke.edu" email address. Users are limited to 300 searches per day. Provides insights into the shipping activities of importers and exporters around the world; including access to shipping manifest databases of the shipping histories for global importers and exporters.

MORE INFO: More information on Import Genius can be found on its public web site; including a list of shipping terms.

IntelliConnect
Comprehensive legal, tax, accounting, and business research system. Content includes: (a) news and current awareness, (b) laws, regulations and other primary sources, (c) explanations, treatises & guidebooks, (d) practice tools, and (e) indexes & tables.
ISS Directors Data via WRDS
Includes a range of variables related to individual board directors (e.g., name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, independence classification, primary employer and title, number of other public company boards serving on, shares owned, etc.).
ISS Governance Data via WRDS
The IRRC Governance database (also known as IRRC Takeover Defense database) provides information on takeover defense and other corporate governance provisions for major US firms. It also includes state takeover laws.
ISS Incentive Lab Data - Register for Access
ISS Incentive Lab is an executive compensation database with data going back to 1998 and coverage of over 1,800 (1,200 active) of the largest US companies based on market cap. It includes both CEO and NEO proxy information and relevant 10-K information related to equity and non-equity incentive plans. Coverage includes: S&P500 and a significant portion of the S&P400, including companies that fall into the top 750 in any year and across all industries; over 350 of the top European companies across all industries; over 20,000 fiscal years and 250,000 individual grants; historical data back to 1998, updated monthly and within one month of the filing date; and Metrics and Goals data from 2006.
ISSM via WRDS
The Institute for the Study of Security Markets (ISSM) database contains tick-by-tick data covering the NYSE and AMEX between 1983 and 1992, and NASDAQ between 1987 and 1992.
KLD Research and Analytics via WRDS
Provides environmental, social, and governance performance ratings data on companies in the Domini 400 SocialSM Index (DS 400 Index), a socially screened, capitalization-weighted index of 400 common stocks. KLD is a companion product to MSCI's ESG Manager on Campus. Select KLD from the Current Subscriptions list on the WRDS site after connecting.
Leadership Library
Online versions of the Leadership directory yellow books: Congressional yellow book, Federal yellow book, State yellow book, Municipal yellow book, Federal regional yellow book, Judicial yellow book, Corporate yellow book and more.
Lexis/Nexis Academic
Provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts. Covers general, business, and legal information sources.
MarketLine Advantageuser guide available
Contains full text market research reports focusing on companies and broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology. Market analysis and forecasting looks at major issues and threats for each sector with analytical commentary and data.
MEDLINE Plus
Medical information for health consumers including popular information from the National Institutes of Health and other sources on over 600 topics on medical conditions, diseases, and wellness.
Mergers & Acquisitions (SDC)
Includes detailed data on US Targets, Non-US Targets, & Joint Ventures/Alliances. SDC Platinum is locally installed client-server software and is available only on Library Database Room Workstations LIBDB-07, LIBDB-08, & LIBDB-09. Show the SDC Platinum Workstations.
Mintel Academic
Adds over 600 market research reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. more details ...
Morningstar CISDM via WRDS
Morningstar CISDM Database provides qualitative and quantitative information for more than 6,000 hedge funds, funds of funds and CTAs since 1994. In addition to current funds, the Morningstar CISDM Database includes a graveyard database of dead funds, which provides information for over 13,000 inactive hedge funds, funds of funds and CTAs.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Intended for the individual investor, this database provides Morninstar's detailed financial analysis and performance forecasts of stocks and mutual funds.
OneSourceuser guide available
Provides worldwide company and industry profiles, financials and analysts reports, as well as business related articles, executive biographies, links to company home pages, and trade press articles.
OptionMetrics via WRDS
has historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. With more than six years of data, contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.
Passport (fka Euromonitor GMID)user guide available
A source of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics and research reports for over 200 countries. Provides volume and value market size data for 330 consumer products across 49 countries.
PrivCo - Private Company Financial Intelligence
PrivCo provides detailed business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

Tip: After connecting to the PrivCo site; do not use the blue "Login" button at the top right. If you see the text: "You are using PrivCo courtesy of your library at Duke University" displayed at the left under the PrivCo menu bar, you are already logged in to the site.
PsycINFO
contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
RECAP IQ from ThomsonReuters
Provides advice and analysis related to the biotechnology and pharmaceutical company markets. Areas covered include: alliance lists, contract analyses, deal snapshots, and coontracts. ThomsonReuters RECAP is only available in the Ford Library on Workstation LIBDB-07 in our Data Resources Room.
Reference USA
Searchable database with detailed information, including addresses and phone numbers, on more than 12 million U.S. businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. health care providers, and 95,000 Technology Companies and 280,000 Executives.
Reference USA Historical Business Data Files
The ReferenceUSA historical business data collection provides detailed data on the characteristics of US businesses in operation from 1997 through 2013. Each yearly downloadable datafile has from 78 to 94 variables, including: business name, contact name, phone number, address, state and county FIPS codes, latitude and longitude coordinates, NAICS, SIC, franchise codes, # of employees, and sales volume. (view Complete Variable List) Each annual data file is several gigabytes in size; and will require access to SAS or STATA to manipulate and query the data.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks - Current Editions | Archive Editions
Market research handbooks downloadable in PDF format covering the following market sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering, Consumer Behavior, Entertainment, Media & Advertising, Healthcare Business, International Consumers, Leisure, Restaurant, Food & Beverage, Retail Business, Sports, Travel & Tourism.
S&P ExecuComp via WRDS
ExecuComp is part of the Compustat suite and contains corporate executive compensation data from 1992 - 2003.
S&P NetAdvantage
A comprehensive database of financial information, covering corporate research, competitive analysis, investment information, and industry analysis. see more ...
SDC Platinumuser guide available
This locally installed software is a search portal providing access to data on Global New Issues, venture capital firms, VC deals, executives, mergers & acquisitions. SDC Platinum is available only on Library Database Room Workstations LIBDB-07, LIBDB-08, & LIBDB-09.
(WRDS) SEC Analytics Suite
Allows users to develop tailored datasets from all SEC filings, parsing millions of regulatory reports based on your custom criteria. WRDS SEC Analytics Suite is useful for broad business usage from due diligence and forensic accounting to disclosure research and investment management.
SimplyMap
SimplyMap is a web-based data mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data.
SRDS - Advertising Data
SRDS Media Solutions provides advertising media rates and advertiser data through its coverage of traditional media - such as magazines, newspapers, television, direct marketing and radio - as well as online sources.
Statista
Provides access to downloadable statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
StreetEvents via Thomson ONE
Contains full text transcripts of analyst calls and meetings, earnings calls, presentations, and more events related to companies and industries.
TAQ via WRDS
The Trade and Quote (TAQ) database contains daily intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
Thomson ONE
Important Technical Requirements - Contains more than 6 million source documents from various databases, including: Disclosure, Worldscope, MarkIntel market research, I/B/E/S, and more. Provides data for corporate research, competitive analysis, and investment information. Includes comprehensive financial data on U.S. and international public companies. Access limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Thomson Reuters Insider Filings via WRDS
Contains 5 datasets that provide long term data on company insider stock and derivative transactions, Form 144 filings, average return data, and an Amendment concordance.
Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings via WRDS
contains over 36 million data observations on the common stock holdings and transactions of over 4,300 institutional money management (and mutual fund) companies.
Thomson Reuters Mutual Fund Holdings via WRDS
provides long term data on securities holdings by mutual funds.
Value Line Research Center
Provides access to the classic Value Line Investment Survey company reports as well as the full text of many other Value Line publications.
Vault.com
A premium Vault.com account will give you access to: Downloadable Career Guides, Employer profiles and rankings, All discussion boards, Industry blogs and news covering the latest trends and issues, Diversity, green programs and leadership development profiles, and Vault's job board, which matches employers and recruiters with top talent.
VentureXpert (SDC)
VentureXpert covers venture capital firms, VC deals, executives, and mergers & acquisitions. Includes all available industry resources and statistics except NVCA Free Reports. Show the SDC Platinum Workstations.
Wall Street Journal Digital Microfilm
Wall Street Journal Digital Microfilm contains full image PDFs of the complete Wall Street Journal newspaper, including advertisements, special sections, graphics, and stock quote pages. Daily issues available from January 2008 to current, minus 60 day publication delay.
Web of Science (SSCI and SCI)
Provides access to the Social Science Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and many more indices to journal literature across multiple subject areas. See more ...
WetFeet Insider Guides
Provide detailed "insider" profiles of careers and companies, as well as guides to case interview techniques across multiple business disciplines.
World Bank Data Catalog
Provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960.
WorldCat
Contains more than 40 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings.
WRDStutorial available
Wharton Research Data Services is a data search portal that provides access to 30 different datasets covering company, industry, capital market, and economic data.
 

Web site and contents © Ford Library & Duke University's Fuqua School of Business, 100 Fuqua Drive, Ford Library, Durham, NC 27708